Brookgreen Gardens is more then just gardens

As I leave Brookgreen Gardens, thinking back on my day, it is too hard to pick just one favorite thing.  Perhaps it is the overall history of the property and what it has become over time thanks to Anna Hyatt Huntington and her husband Archer Milton Huntington. Wandering around the gardens, at every turn there is another sculpture just as beautiful as the first. I particularly liked Fountain of the Muses – a large fountain with 8 major figures & 7 secondary figures (formerly installed at the Met).   Or of course the Live Oak Allee  was particularly amazing that day for it had rained the night before. (I keep thinking the name of the gardens is Brooktree!)  Walking through the Low Country Trail, I felt more in tune with the former history of the property as I looked out over the former rice fields.  And as I entered the Aviary, I am not sure I have ever had such an encounter at a zoo.  I felt like the animal on exhibit as the birds surrounded me from all sides.   They have woven these three areas together.  However to take in everything in just one day is overwhelming …. This place definitely deserves a second visit. Oh .. and how could I not mention grasshoppers the size of your first… this was the first one we saw that day… but would not be the last 2014-08-19 11.00.54

Leave a Reply

